top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDenise Nachtigal

Prairie Readers


It's Prairie Reader time again! For those who don't remember, or don't know what this event is, it's a fun event to test your mind, specifically your memory. Teams from local schools will compete in teams of 1-4 (with optional 2 alternates). Each team is required to read books from a designated list. They must know what the book is about, and who the author is. In 2 timed rounds (approx. 30-45 minutes per round) in round-robin fashion, each team is asked a question in the form of, "In which book did..." and the team is required to know the title and author of the book. They get 30 seconds to discuss the question and present their answer. If they guess correctly, they will get 10 points. If they guess incorrectly, the other teams get a chance to steal for 5 points. The next question then goes to the next team in line. The winner is the team who scores the most points.


As I am the designated coach for the high school, I am, of course, obligated to push this event. Considering I love reading, it's not exactly a hard push for me either. I will say though, that I'm not particularly a fan of some genre's; historical fiction being one of them. Last year, there were 2-3 books that fell in that genre, and I will admit to inwardly groaning that I would have to read those books. I'm ridiculously happy to say that I seriously LOVED those books. They were very intriguing, and fascinating, and infuriating, and possibly made me tear up a bit at times too. Shhh. Don't tell anyone.


I would also be quite amiss if I were to fail to mention that Platte-Geddes high school has only had 1 student, Kaori Nachtigal, sign up for the past 2 years, from our 7th-12th grade students. That single student went up against 4-5 other teams from 3-4 different schools both years. 2 years ago, she placed 3rd. Last year, she placed 1st. I would LOVE to see our school send more than 1 this year, and really make their presence known in the high school realm.


Sign up is in the library! I can answer any other questions you might have at that time.


The event will be held at Armor Elementary School on March 13, 2018. More details will be coming when it gets closer to the date.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page