top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDenise Nachtigal

Look! Another Post!

I am KILLING it with these posts! WOO!


Then again, we still have about 57.5 days of school left, so plenty of time for me to forget again.


Let's just celebrate the small moments, shall we?


So, like I said in a previous post, the company I order from takes awhile to get my stuff to me, so, yea, we're still waiting on the remainder of that last order I placed. In the meantime, I just placed ANOTHER order, a.k.a. The Final Order (of the year). I'll list all those at the bottom of this post. They should all be in by the end of the year.


Hopefully.


Among other newness in this place, if you haven't noticed, there's been a lot of books...like, a whole lot of books...that have gone bye bye. Rest assured, we are not closing the library down, nor are we running out of money. No kids, what I'm doing, is called 'weeding', and it's been sorely neglected over the years. In a nutshell, I'm getting rid of old books, or books that haven't been checked out in awhile. There are other factors involved too, but that's the simplified tldr (too long, didn't read) of it. I have plans for the library, and it requires MORE SPACE! Granted, my plans also require a lot of other factors, but if there's one thing I've learned, if you don't start planning for the future, you're in for a world of hurt when it matters, and thus, here I find myself, faced with decisions such as:


"Should I purchase replacements for Frankenstein and Dracula? I mean...they're classics, but no one has checked them out in like...15 years."

These are the questions that keep me up at night, people!

"This book was published in 1980. Looks like we got it in 1985. It was checked out last year, but the only other time it was checked out, was 1986. Should I still keep it?"


"Is Twilight REALLY a keeper, or has it had it's shiney moment of fame and now I can dump it?"








According to library lore, if you weed a book that hasn't circulated in 5-10 years, the chances of someone coming and asking for it after you weeded it, are slim to none.


It's happened to me TWICE. In TWO YEARS.


So, you can imagine that I think long and carefully about every book I weed.


Usually.


I mean, there's a lot of books in here and at some point, you just have to say, "Whatever", and weed like the books are on fire. Which is what I've been doing over the past few weeks. I apologize in advance if I had a book you want, in the future, but I weeded it out in the present.


Seriously though, take the books that I weeded, or else I have to load them all into my car and haul them off to Goodwill and that's an hour long trip one way and a LOT of heavy lifting and carrying and walking and....I mean, I like my exercise, but not that much.


NEW BOOKS COMING SOON TO YOUR LOCAL SCHOOL LIBRARY!


Graphic Novels

Amulet - Book 3 - The Cloud Searchers

Bone - Book 8 - Treasure Hunters

Castle in the Stars - Book 1 - The Space Race of 1869

Castle in the STars - Book 2 - The Moon-King

Fullmetal Alchemist - Omnibus 10-12

Fullmetal Alchemist - Omnibus 13-15

Les Miserables - Luciano Saracino


Series

Trapped in Battle Royale - Book 2 - Battle for Loot Lake

Trapped in Battle Royale - Book 3 - Betrayal at Salty Springs

The 39 Clues: Cahills vs. Vespers - Book 3 - Dead of Night

The 39 Clues: Cahills vs. Vespers - Book 1 - The Medusa Plot

Dog Man - Book 3 - A Tale of Two Kitties

Dog Man - Book 4 - Cat Kid

Dog Man - Book 5 - Lord of the Fleas

Dog Man - Book 6 - Brawl of the Wild

The Selection - Book 2 - The Elite

The Selection - Book 1 - Selection

Daughter of Smoke & Bone - Book 2.5 - Night of Cake and Puppets

Renegades - Book 1

Miradore - Book 1 - Bluescreen

Miradore - Book 2 - Ones and Zeroes

School for Good and Evil - Book 2 - A World Without Princes

School for Good and Evil - Book 3 - The Last Ever After

School for Good and Evil - Book 4 - Quests for Glory

Half-Bad - Book 3 - Half Lost (I swear book 2 is coming...)


Classics

Complete Poetry of Edgar Allan Poe - Edgar Allan Poe (obviously)

Around the World in 80 Days - Jules Verne

Jane Eyre - Charlotte Bronte

Journey to the Center of the Earth - Jules Verne

Picture of Dorian Gray and Three Stories - Oscar Wilde

The Scarlet Letter - Nathaniel Hawthorne

Treasure Island - Robert Louis Stevenson


Plays

Arsenic and Old Lace - Joseph Kesselring

Hamlet - William Shakespeare

Macbeth - William Shakespeare

Romeo and Juliet - William Shakespeare

Teahouse of the August Moon - John Patrick


Comedy

Harvey - Mary Chase


YARP

Flight #116 is Down - Caroline B Cooney

Letters From the Inside - John Marsden

Nothing But the Truth - Avi

Winger - Andrew Smith

Zane and the Hurricane - Rodman Philbrick

Dumplin - Julie Murphy


Non-Fiction

Funny, You Don't Look Autistic: A Comedian's Guide to Life - Michael McCreary

Hitler Youth: Growing up in Hitler's Shadow - Susan Campbe Bartoletti

Making Bombs for Hitler - Marsha Forchuk Skrypuch

Secret Agent and Other Spy Kids - Allan Zullo

World of Lore - Dreadful Places - Aaron Mahnke

World War II Heroes - Allan Zullo

Young Civil Rights Heroes - Allan Zullo

100 Weekend Projects Anyone Can Do - The Family Handyman

50 Knots You Need to Know - Marty Allen

The History of Video Games in 64 Objects - World Video Game Hall of Fame

Claiming My Place: Coming of Age in the Shadow of the Holocaust - Planaria Price

Dewey: The Small-Town Library Cat who Touched The World - Vicki Myron

Future Presence: How Virtual Reality is Changing Human Connection, Intimacy, and the Limits of Ordinary Life - Peter Rubin

Instant Pot Cookbook

The Art of Ni No Kuni 2: Revenant Kingdom

The Distraction Addiction - Alex Soojung

The Rush: America's Fevered Quest for Fortune, 1848-1853 - Edward Dolnick

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page